Entrepreneurs Forum

Annual Events / Galas

By attending one of our annual events you help provide unrestricted funds in support of the Greenville Tech Foundation mission. We have hosted two types of events in the past. The Workforce Development Salute Gala began in 2015 and recognizes workforce development in the Upstate. From 1999 to 2014, the Entrepreneurs Forum Gala recognized individuals who contributed to the prosperity of upstate South Carolina through their entrepreneurial activities, business leadership, and involvement in the community. Honorees to date are listed lower on this page.

2018 Workforce Development Salute - October 9, 2018

This year's Workforce Development Salute will be held on October 9, 2018 at Greenville Technical College's new aircraft maintenance facility at SCTAC. The Workforce Development Salute is one of the premier events in our community with more than 400 business and community leaders in attendance. For detailed information including ticket prices and levels please view our sponsorship form. You may purchase tickets by filling out the form and mailing it with payment to the address provided, or by using our Giving page and selecting 'Other' in the section "I would like my gift to go to", then entering "WDS purchase" in the "Other use" box that appears.


This year's event will recognize three outstanding honorees that have supported workforce development and significantly given back to our community. We look forward to sharing their captivating and inspiring stories with you at this special event.

About Bosch Rexroth Group

True partners give support and assistance on an ongoing basis. That's clearly the case with the team at Bosch-Rexroth. Since 1998 Bosch-Rexroth and the Bosch Community Fund have given financial support to the Greenville Tech Foundation and the students and faculty at Greenville Technical College (GTC) with gifts valued in excess of $625,000. These gifts equipped the hydraulic training lab and the hydraulics/pneumatics simulation lab, both at the Center for Manufacturing Innovation (CMI), the Bosch Advanced Manufacturing Honors College, scholarships for Quick Jobs With a Future students, and support of the CMI equipment upgrade/replacement fund. The partnership was made even stronger with the assistance given by Bosch-Rexroth Vice President Mike McCormick, who was instrumental in planning and development of CMI. He stood with GTC in seeking funding from Greenville County Council. Mike McCormick described the partnership with Greenville Tech as "mutually beneficial for the college and Bosch-Rexroth as well as providing to many people the skills needed to be productive, successful members of our community."


About Greenville Health System

Greenville Health System (GHS) has been a committed partner and investor of the Greenville Tech Foundation and Greenville Technical College (GTC) for decades. The support for academic scholarships for students in healthcare careers makes a significant and lasting impact on our workforce, local economy, and quality of life. Over the years, Greenville Health System has contributed more than $1,267,000 to support our students, classroom and lab equipment, and so much more. Dr. Brenda Thames, Executive Vice President and Provost of the GHS Health Sciences Center, serves as a member of the Foundation Board of Directors. Many GHS employees serve on Advisory Committees and help develop curriculum. In addition, GHS works with the College to provide internships and clinical sites so that our students receive the very best hands-on training and skills. GHS has a rich history of employing GTC graduates. "Greenville Technical College is an invaluable partner in cultivating a workforce essential for transforming health care delivery," said Greenville Health System President Spence M. Taylor, MD. "By working together, Greenville Health System and Greenville Technical College are responsibly leveraging resources to accomplish more than any one of us could by ourselves for the future of the region."


About Michelin

Michelin North America began its partnership with Greenville Technical College (GTC) more than 30 years ago and has contributed nearly $1M dollars. The technical college is a leader in our community, strengthening the development of a highly skilled workforce in the Upstate. GTC participates in the Michelin Technical Scholars Program where students complete on-the-job training while gaining experience with industrial technologies. Michelin has employed hundreds of graduates of GTC who skillfully contribute to our manufacturing success. Michelin strongly supported the Center for Manufacturing Innovation (CMI) and provided guidance and input through the service by employees on the Greenville Tech Foundation Board, CMI, advisory councils, and the Area Commission. "When Michelin first started manufacturing tires in the Upstate, we needed a highly skilled workforce to help us produce the best tires in the world. That need was great then and it is even more important to us today. Greenville Technical College has been a valuable partner in our journey and is an important part of our success," said Dave Stafford, chief human resources officer of Michelin North America, Inc. "We look forward to our continued partnership with Greenville Technical College and welcoming many more of their graduates to Michelin."

PAST HONOREES - Workforce Development Salute (2015 - 2017):

  Jim Benson

  Ralph Hendricks

  John I. Smith Charities

  Stewart Spinks

  T&S Brass and Bronze Works, Inc.

  Melvin Younts

PAST HONOREES - Entrepreneur Forum members (1999-2014):

(* deceased)

Mr. James B. Anthony

Mr. Paul C. Aughtry III

Mr. Gary R. Ault

Dr. Thomas E. Barton, Jr.

Mr. Louis P. Batson, Jr.

Mr. Michael L. Baur

Mr. James H. Benson

Dr. Larry G. Blackwell

Mr. Michael Bolick

Mr. William H. Bradshaw

Mr. T. Walter Brashier

Mr. Craig D. Brown

Mr. William W. Brown

Mr. William K. "B.K." Bryan *

Mrs. Karen C. Clardy

Mr. James D. Cockman *

Hon. Merl F. Code

Mr. John Michael Collins

Mr. Dan R. Collins

Mr. Jerry K. Cooper

Mr. Howard W. Covington, Jr.         

Mrs. Gale B. Crawford

Ms. Marion Crawford

Mr. Leighton M. Cubbage

Mr. Walter Davis

Mr. Homer L. Deakins, Jr.            

Mr. Nathan A. Einstein

Mr. Joseph Erwin

Mr. Rick Erwin

Mr. George W. Fletcher

Mr. J. Earle Furman, Jr.

Mr. Fred D. Garrett, Sr.

Mr. David W. Glenn

Mr. P. Edwin Good, Jr.

Mr. M. Dexter Hagy

Mr. Frank B. Halter, Sr. *

Mr. C. Douglass Harper

Mr. Henry C. Harrison

Mr. Thomas S. Hartness *

Hon. Max M. Heller *

Mr. Ralph S. Hendricks

Mr. Richard K. Heusel

Mr. W. Hayne Hipp

Mr. Tee Hooper, Jr.

Mr. Charles S.Houser

Mr. Robert E. Hughes, Jr.

Mr. Jackson Hughes, Jr.

Mrs. Velda Hughes

Mr. Surendra Jain

Ms. Jennie Johnson

Mr. Mark Johnston

Mr. C. Dan Joyner *

Mr. Emil P. Kondra

Mr. Ray A. Lattimore

Ms. Barbara League

Ms. Sandra S. Linning

Mrs. Linda K. Long

Mr. William E. Masters

Mr. William H. McCauley II *

Mr. Jon McClure

Mrs. Mary Louise Mims

Mr. Ruben G. Montalvo

Mr. William H. Orders

Mr. Steven H. Owings

Mr. Joseph Pazdan

Mr. Sam B. Phillips, Jr.

Mr. David C. Poole

Mr. James Randolph Potter, Sr.         

Ms. Susan C. Priester

Mr. Hasmukh P. Rama

Mr. Timothy J. Reed

Mr. J. Carroll Rushing

Mr. Ali Saifi

Mr. R. Arthur Seaver, Jr.

Mr. Jack E. Shaw

Mrs. Minor Mickel Shaw

Mr. Robert S. Small, Jr.

Mr. Lewis T. Smoak, Esq.

Mr. Carl S. Sobocinski

Mr. L. Stewart Spinks

Mr. George Stathakis

Mr. John M. Sterling, Jr.

Mr. James Hamilton Stewart, Esq.

Mrs. Llyn Strong

Mr. Todd H. Taylor

Mr. Charles D. Walters

Mr. Mack Whittle

Mrs. Vivian A.Wong

Mr. C. Thomas Wyche